Prof. M. VIMALA DEVI - Inspiring Women

Sponsored Links


Prof. M. Vimala Devi was born on 26th May 1939 and obtained B.Pharm, M.Pharm and Ph.D from prestigious Andhra University. Presently working as CEO of Auro Pharma in Pondicherry. In a career spanning over 5 decades, Prof. M. Vimala Devi started her career in 1962 and chaired various positions up to 1997. In 1996, she worked as Special Officer, established and organized the Department of Pharmacy in SPMVV Sri Padmavathi Mahila Visva Vidyalaya (Tirupathi). Emertius Professor of (AICTE) in Andhra University, Research Advisor at CPS Mohuda, Berhampur, Orissa from 1998 to 2009. She is Visiting Professor for Kashmir University, Bharathi Dasan University, Berhampur University, MGR University, Utkal University, Punjabi University (Patiala), BHU (Varanasi), Punjab Technical University. She has over 100 research papers and review articles and produced 50 M.Pharm"s, 12 Ph.Ds. She has 2 Patents.

She is a member of many professional bodies like ICTA, FIHI, IASTAM, IAAN, APTI and President of Woman Pharmacists Association. Consultant in Pharmaceutical Industries and started Herbal Health Care Products Industry in Pondicherry.

She is Organising Secretary for 1st World Congress in Pharmacy Education, Research and Industry at Singapore and Bangkok. She is 1st Woman Professor in Indian Universities in Pharmaceutical Technology and the only woman professor who organised 47th IPC in 50 years of Pharmacy profession in Post-Independent India. She is recipient of various Awards like M.L. Khorana Memorial Award, G.P. Srivastava Memorial Award, International Council of Ayurveda Award, Green Revolution of India (Best Researcher Award), Special Recognition Award ISEP etc.

Prof. M. Vimala Devi is the first woman to receive Life Time Achievement Award - 2014 in India from Indian Pharmaceutical Association - IPA.

About the Author

Prof. J. Vijaya Ratna's picture

Dr. Vijaya Ratna Jayanthi serving Andhra University College of Pharmaceutical Sciences as Chairman, Pharmaceutical Technology Department.

Dr. J. Vijaya Ratna did her B.Pharm (1977), M.Pharm (1979), PGDAS (1981) and Ph.D (1998) at Andhra University Campus and won "M.L. Khorana Gold Medal" for standing University FIRST in graduation.

You May Also Like..